Year-End Books Roundup

bookstack4

2016 has been a great year for me, books-wise. Do not get me started on the things that make me want to punch 2016 in the face. *Deep breath* I could not achieve my target count (not even remotely close to it) for this year but I read some amazing books. Long long ago, I started a page called “Vandy’s Book Nook” to post book reviews but I was too lazy to do it regularly. Now the page is too cobwebby  for me to dig up. So, I am going to cram all my reviews into this post. Alrighty, let’s get to business.

Books that I read this year:

  1. Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
  2. Library of Souls(Final part of the Miss Peregrine Trilogy) by Ransom Riggs
  3. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
  4. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  5. Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis
  6. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
  7. Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia
  8. Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman
  9. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  10. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  11. Farthest Field: An Indian Story of the Second World War by Raghu Karnad
  12. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
  13. A Song of Ice and Fire (A Game of thrones) by George R.R Martin
  14. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  15. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling
  16. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  17. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  18. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  19. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
  20. The Lost World By Michael Crichton
  21. Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
  22. Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley
  23. The Hobbit (Still reading) by J.R.R.Tolkein

The ones that I really liked:

Station Eleven: I knew nothing about this book except that it is a post-apocalyptic novel. I expected to see zombies and some action. Instead, what I read was profoundly meaningful.  This will be something I will definitely re-read time and again

Rebecca: I knew I would love this book. Period.

The Bell Jar: A semi-autobiographical novel on depression. I wanted to rip out the pages, hold it close to my heart, all at the same time. One book which deeply resonated with me since I was going through a tough phase in my life. There were times when I couldn’t go on because it was too hard. Yet, this book will stay very close to my heart.

The Giver:  What is more chilling than a horror story? Dystopian novels. My year isn’t complete without reading one. In books like 1984(which I totally love), doom is staring right in your face. But in The Giver, everything seems so rosy in the supposed-utopia until the truth slowly creeps in around the corner and horrifies you. I felt the ending was a bit abrupt but it was a wonderful journey reading this book.

The ones that disappointed:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: I knew it wouldn’t be the same when you are reading a script. The richness in detail which made the Harry Potter books so endearing clearly lacked in Cursed Child. Forced dialogues , hocus-pocus-unbelievable-plot-line, characters talking out-of-character and so many other reasons made it hugely disappointing for me. But 100 points to Slytherin house for having the adorable Scorpius Malfoy.

Lily and the Octopus: It was not an easy read. I couldn’t connect with the characters. But for the last part which made be bawl like a baby, this book was mostly disappointing.

The Lost Symbol and The Lost World don’t exactly belong in this category. I wasn’t really disappointed because I knew what to expect. I wanted something fast-paced like an average commercial movie

I hope to read a few more books by the end of this year and looking forward to reading books like ‘Lolita’ and ‘Tender is the Night’ next year. Do tell us how your year in books have been? Happy Reading !

About vandysnape

Hi ! I'm Vandhana. Books. Blogging. Rickmaniac. Titanic. Time Travel. UFOs. Madras. Travel. History. Quirks. Shopaholic. Sinatra. Mozart. Beatles. Amelie. Me :)
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Year-End Books Roundup

  1. Mahesh says:

    How was – “The Sense of an Ending” and “Fifteen Dogs” is a strange title!

    • vandysnape says:

      Sense of an ending is actually a booker prize novel. It was kind of a long monologue with a huge surprise at the end 🙂 Strangely it felt like reading a K.Balachander Story . Fifteen Dogs is a very interesting novel. Two Greek Gods give 15 dogs the power of human thinking and the chaos that ensues is the story. Do give it a try 🙂

      • Mahesh says:

        Now I am well and truly intrigued, will get Fifteen Dogs for sure 🙂 Thank you and have a great day ahead 🙂

  2. Balu says:

    That’s too many books in a year 😉

  3. Punch 2016 in the face?? Vandy! Please sit down on your yoga mat and compose yourself!! : )

    You missed your target count?? Whoa! Musta been up there. Well, you did OK, IMHO… : )

    Always great when you share your books, and I always enjoy reading your reviews. I’m struck by how far-ranging your literary tastes are– you are truly an equal opportunity reader!

    I hadn’t heard much about Rowling’s Cursed Child. Your review made me think of old singing stars who’ve run out of gas and start re-recording their hits. Those trips back to the well are fraught with danger…

    I can recommend The Hunt Club by Bret Lott, a novel first, and a mystery second, with a strong coming-of-age element. Kept me guessing right up to the end, and I couldn’t put it down. Ever hear of Wilbur Smith? I only discovered him a couple of years ago. If you’re looking for a ferociously-paced adventure novel, try The Seventh Scroll.

    Hope you’re well and being your funny and feisty self. Happy New Year to you, a little late! : )

    • vandysnape says:

      Hi Mark ! 🙂 Happy New year 😀
      Thank you so much for the book recommendation. The Hunt Club sounds very interesting. I have always had a liking for coming-of-age stories. Will definitely put it in my ist for this year ! I have heard a great deal about Wilbur Smith but never read him until now. I guess it’s time 🙂 Thank you for your kind and witty comments, as always. So looking forward to catching up with your illustrations !

Leave a Reply

