Cartoon Therapy

You are in that magical place where everything is perfect. A pink little face is poking out of the upstairs window. Well, look who it is! It’s Heidi. Oh and there is Grandpa fixing breakfast down below – toasted cheese and fresh milk. Before you think further, the cool mountain breeze gently whisks you away down the hill for there are many more people to meet. On the far side of the hill, there is a yellow blur bobbing up and down. On a closer look, it appears to be a daisy flower hopping merrily on a pogo stick. Immediately you look around for a blue octopus. Sure enough, he is lying down on a bright yellow mat spread out near the pool. Oswald’s looking funny in his dark sunglasses. Is it Summer already in the Big City? There are buildings shaped like ice creams cones and giant guitars. You breath in the vivid colours of the city, filling your heart with warmth. Wait, did you hear that? Someone’s shouting out for help. You are running fast towards the sound. A chubby little boy in sailor’s hat is running hysterically in every direction. Behind him Lulu is cackling wildly with a jar full of paint. Strangely, no one seems to notice you. But you know them. You grew up with them.

Go to youtube. Pick a cartoon. Sit back and relax. That’s the mantra. Oswald’s usually my favourite pick. Oswald’s city does not have humans. So, less drama. He checks both sides when crossing the street. Left. Right. Left. Every time! Though a little off-key sometimes, he sings with confidence. There is so much boundless kindness that it is the perfect antidote for all things negativity.  One time I made the mistake of choosing courage the cowardly dog. This episode was so disturbingly bizarre that I was left with only one thought – How did the hell did I watch this show as a kid? As much as cartoon therapy works, sometimes I can’t help my 23 year old self creeping into the thought process. Yesterday, I was watching this episode. Towards the end, when Oswald drips ice cream all over the floor, I got seriously impatient. Dude, who will clean up the mess?

Oswald_Nick_Jr_Character

About vandysnape

Hi ! I'm Vandhana. Books. Blogging. Rickmaniac. Titanic. Time Travel. UFOs. Madras. Travel. History. Quirks. Shopaholic. Sinatra. Mozart. Beatles. Amelie. Me :)
This entry was posted in Humor, Memories/Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cartoon Therapy

  1. ganeshputtu says:

    my personal hate is that OGGY and the cockroaches…i just feel like using “Hit” all over them

  2. dilip says:

    Ha ha enjoyed this post. And yes no to roaches 🙂

  3. I am in “that magical place where everything is perfect”– namely, Vandhana’s blog, aka, Platform 9-3/4! I’ve been away too long– I’ve forgotten how pleasant it is here– how soothing– how, well, perfect!

    Vandy! Sorry to be a stranger. Before I forget, I like your new photo, and did you design that new blog header yourself? => dinosaur “evolves” into The Beatles?? It has your sensibility, so I’m guessing yes… : )

    Cartoon therapy… yes, I’ve relied on it a lot over the years, but I usually draw ’em, not watch ’em. Has it kept me sane? Well, that’s debatable… : (

    Never choose Courage the Cowardly Dog… Right. I’m making a note of that. I’ve learned to take your advice. Time travel? I don’t remember that as part of your eclectic bio. Do you have a favorite time travel book and/or movie? I shall expect your reply sometime yesterday… : )

    • vandysnape says:

      Who better than cartoonist to comment of the post.I did change my bio 😀 and I did design that header. thank you so much 😀 You have got a keen eye I must say ! Back to the Future is my favourite. Oh, my time machine is running to trouble a lot lately !!!

  4. mramani says:

    Happy New year – 2016 to you ma!

    Resume blogging with frequency!

    Have a great year ahead 🙂

  5. I remember watching Courage the cowardly dog and being scarred for life.
    And I never realized the oxymoron in the title. I loved Oswald.
    This post is a chasm of nostalgia and questionable cartoons. Still better than the crap they show kids these days! 🙂

Leave a Reply

