Serendipity

wpid-wp-1442855707910.jpg

I waited for a message in a bottle. Not even a soda bottle came my way. Buried treasure in my back garden. Nothing. Kind little notes from strangers. Nada. A brilliant idea in my dream. I didn’t even get a blog post idea in my dream ! One may call it side effects of watching ‘Amelie’ but I have waited patiently for such crazy things to happen ever since ‘UFO research’ became my first childhood ambition (More on that some other day). So today I was in for a surprise when I came across this magazine in the old book shop near Pycroft’s Road. It almost made up for the above things. Well, almost.

I was buying old Reader’s digests when I found this 2003 November edition of NatGeo on the top of the pile. My eyes wandered to the name on the top right corner. It had my sister’s name, V.Vasudha. Complete with initials!  The handwriting looked familiar. The d and h looked like hers. I turned the page to find her name again. This time more like her handwriting. This was good enough reason for me to buy this book. I pored over each and every aspect of the book with my sister. The chances of it being one of her books were very likely. For one thing, my sister was at her nerdiest self in the early 2000s. She used to buy these bulky ‘Tell me why’ books and NatGeos while I doodled on many of them. We are ninety percent sure it is our book but we still have some doubts on the handwriting. She felt the first page looked like my handwriting and the second one hers. I was just eight or nine when this edition came out. Both of our handwritings have evolved rapidly since then.

All said and done, I want this to be my little serendipity. What are the odds of coming across your own book after 15 years? This  always been one of my dearest fantasies. I will settle with it. But if you are a “Vasudha” belonging to the other half, well thank you 🙂 😉

So, have you ever had such serendipitous moments ? Do share in the comments ! We can never get enough of those.

About vandysnape

Hi ! I'm Vandhana. Books. Blogging. Rickmaniac. Titanic. Time Travel. UFOs. Madras. Travel. History. Quirks. Shopaholic. Sinatra. Mozart. Beatles. Amelie. Me :)
This entry was posted in Strands of Thought and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serendipity

  1. ganeshputtu says:

    woah….after 15 years? you gotta make a short film out of this and send it to nat geo channel asap

Leave a Reply

