The Sound of Music …

It gets you through difficult times. It helps you celebrate euphoric moments. It is the much needed bottle of glucose at the end of a tiring day. Ah I love music. Well, who doesn’t?

As my friends would say, I am a little bit behind times in music. Oh yes people ! I haven’t quite come out of the 70s and 80s yet. There are two musicians whose music has constantly been there in my humming-list. One’s Ilayaraja and the other is The Beatles. I thought I would just share a list of my favourite Ilayaraja songs in this post. If you have never listened to Ilayaraja, well you really should do it now. I struggled really hard to narrow down the list to just ten songs. So here I go – my top ten favourite Ilayaraja songs :

9) Nayakan Theme Music


This is the lesser-known theme from the movie “Nayagan” while ‘Then Pandi Seemayile‘ is more popular. Not many remember this theme from the movie. Even I came across this piece only a couple of weeks back and ever since I have been hooked to it. Many people draw comparisons between Nayagan and The Godfather. In my opinion, they are both unique in their own way.Β  Oh and both the movies had the best composers πŸ™‚

8) Ninaivo Oru Paravai – Sigappu Rojakkal

I love the interlude in this song . The movie itself is a classic. To top it all, Kamal Hassan did the male vocals in this song.

7) Raja Raja Chozan – Rettai Vaal Kuruvi

Another awesome melody from the Comedy “Rettai Vaal Kuruvi” adapted from the movie ‘Micki and Maude’. Mohan, the 80s leading star wasn’t exactly great shakes at acting but had the best directors, Surendar(his dubbing artist) and Ilayaraja to make all his movies runaway hits.

6) En Iniya Pon Nilave – Moodupani

A classic guitar song by Ilayaraja. K.J.Yesudas’s voice is the icing on the cake. The funny thing about this song is, many people (from Tamil Nadu ofcourse) who touch a guitar for the first time pretend to act like Prathap Pothen from the song. Even I did that when my sister bought her first guitar!

5) Punnagai Mannan Theme

Need I say anything ? See for yourself. Ilayaraja’s masterpiece.

4) Sundari Kannal oru sedhi – Thalabadhi

I have never listened to this song fully because every time I listen to it at night, I drift off to sleep. Such a soothing song πŸ™‚ The movie is really good too. A very subtle take on Karna’s story from Mahabharata. I didn’t notice the Mahabharata resemblance at first but then after years I came to know about it through a TV Interview. Rajnikanth-Mamooty’s combo set the screen on fire and also lead to many a parodies.

3) Ilamayenum Poongatru – Pagalil Oru Iravu

Do not judge a book by its cover. Similarly do not judge a song by its video. You know some songs become super hits even before the movie is released. When you go to the theater expectantly for the song, it turns out to be a total let-down. Well, this is one of those songs. I love the music and sometimes my sister and I do some karaoke-type thingy at home much to my mother’s dismay. It has great music but the video ruined it.

2)Ennule Ennule – Valli

This is my loop-song. The song sets an eerie mood and I love it! A wonderful rendering by the honey-voiced Swarnalatha.

1) Inji Iduppazhagi – Devar Magan

Funny how almost half the songs from this list are from Kamal’s movies. Without any doubt this song is my most favourite. I might have listened to this a 1000 times continuously but it never gets one bit dull. I love everything about this song – the movie , the visuals , Kamal’s careful pronunciation. Devar Magan is a great movie, very much inspired from The Godfather but subtly changed to suit the Tamil Audience.

0) Those that almost made it to the list
* Jotheyali – Geetha
* How to name it – A must-listen πŸ™‚
* Nee Partha Parvai – hey Ram

Hope you enjoyed the songs as much as I have πŸ™‚

About vandysnape

Hi ! I'm Vandhana. Books. Blogging. Rickmaniac. Titanic. Time Travel. UFOs. Madras. Travel. History. Quirks. Shopaholic. Sinatra. Mozart. Beatles. Amelie. Me :)
This entry was posted in Is it just me ? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The Sound of Music …

  1. I really enjoyed listening to your selections!

  2. Balu says:

    Lovely list Vandhana. I haven’t heard this nayagan theme before. So nice. Inchi song is my fav too. Isn’t it tough for you to come up with the top 10 list πŸ™‚ ? Btw, you are not behind in times, you just love the music that has life.

    My all time favorite song is..

    And have you seen this video about illayaraja..

    I hope you are eagerly waiting for nΓ©e thane en pon vasantham πŸ™‚
    Thanks a lot for sharing!! Super likes!

    • vandysnape says:

      Oh I love that song “Thendral Vandhu Theendumbodhu”. The video is awesome too ..Yeah I am eagerly waiting for Nee dhan en pon vasantham too πŸ™‚

      I haven’t seen the video. Sure will check it out πŸ™‚

  3. Balu says:

    And sorry to comment with too many videos πŸ™‚

  4. ganeshputtu says:

    Most of these are on my playlist as well.and a few more like “pazhamudhir cholai” from varusham16… Pottu vecha from edhayam…and a forgotten gem….a movie called Meera starring Vikram in his early days and Aishwarya – Lakshmis daughter? A somg from the movie called Pudhu Routela is very soothing to hear at nights….btw great one vandy- loved this

    • vandysnape says:

      Oh yeah I remember that song too πŸ™‚ I love it too.. There are so many beautiful songs to choose from Ilayaraja’s crown πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  5. mahesh says:

    Hi Vandhana,

    The post made me smile and as I go thru’ your music tastes I almost see a mirror of myself :)!

    I am a huge Isaignani fan myself and mad about The Beatles as well.

    Could you list something on the lines of your top-5 or top-10 Beatles’ favourites πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    Mahesh

  6. yazh26 says:

    Awesome list… ❀ <3…really hard to pick just ten from raja sir's work..and your 1 and 4 are my most favorite πŸ™‚

  7. Extremely interesting. I was not familiar with Ilaiyaraaja’s work. Perhaps next time you could feature you and your sister singing the songs, with your mother crying “No, no– not again!!” in the background… : )

    Thanks for sharing!

  8. Numero Uno says:

    It was nice reading this post. I find that most songs from your list is my favorite too. You are the second person I know who blogged about Nayagan’s less known theme. πŸ™‚

    • vandysnape says:

      It really is a wonderful theme ..isn’t it ? πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you found the post interesting!

      Thank you so much for stopping by Manu πŸ™‚

      • Numero Uno says:

        Yeah. I like the melodious theme for Indian, too.
        My pleasure always, about reading the posts.
        You are most welcome. πŸ™‚

  9. Extremely interesting selection. The song from Sigappu Rojakkal is my most favorite along with Indiha Meenminuukku! So want to watch Devar Magan…do share if you have a link!

    Keep listening and sharing Vandhana! πŸ™‚

    Here is one from my side

    Also please let me know (in case you have an idea) of the songs that Ilayaraja has composed with Lata Mangeshkar. Would be thankful. πŸ™‚

    • vandysnape says:

      Oh do watch Devar Magan ! A classic πŸ™‚ Ohh Valaiosai song is one of my favourites .. Love the pace of the song.. Haven’t seen the movie though..

      I just know one song from Lata Mangeshkar- Ilayaraja combo : Aaararo aararo . Have you heard Asha Bonsle’s Shenbagame ? It is a super hit song : .

      Thank you so much for stopping by Amit ! πŸ™‚

      • It so happened that only today I was told of this reply of yours..Wordpress has been a bit tardy of late. Will surely check that song by Asha. Aararo is amazing, I always knew abt it!

  10. nabadip says:

    I am HOOKED,though I don’t understand even one word!

  11. sash says:

    Ah! collection lady. This is a list that would actually have brought a confusion while ranking. one competes with the other. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of them.

    earlier, I didn’t know:
    9) Nayakan Theme Music – I loved this Movie though.
    3) Ilamayenum Poongatru – Pagalil Oru Iravu

    I am impressed when you chose the Kannada song ‘jothayalle’. I love most of his compositions. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  12. sash says:

    I am from Andhra and many movies in Tamil were dubbed into Telugu. I could understand Tamil and Kannada as well, to actually enjoy the lyrics. Some combinations are super – S.P.Balu & Ilayaraja and Kamal & Ilayaraja… πŸ˜€ I love them.

  13. sash says:

    Hey V! Congratulations! I was watching the Olympic Opening Ceremony and I just got you to my mind the minute I heard Paul McCartney. πŸ™‚

    Watch this at 03:46:00 – http://www.youtube.com/user/olympic?feature=inp-lt-AOL

    ~~Hey Jude!!~~

  14. Una musica estupenda πŸ˜€

  15. Anish says:

    I once had Nayakan theme music as my mobile ringtone. I used to ring my own mobile many times to enjoy how well it suited as ringtone.

  16. Balaji says:

    I love the Beatles and IR. I can never get enough of them.
    Great list. Hope to see a beatles list next.

Leave a Reply

