To Kill a MockingBird

It is like a train-ride. You meet different kinds of people. The moody, brooding one at the corner. The loud-mouth gibbering away at the top of her voice. The middle-aged one who looks far beyond his/her age, occasionally wearing a strained smile. The best thing about it is, you pick up interesting conversation (or overheard conversation if you are me ;)) with strangers and if you are lucky, you get some worldly wisdom from them. It was like that. This book has taught me more than what I have learnt in 20 years of my existence in this world. It has taught to me stand up for things that I believe in.

As I finished the book yesterday in the dead of the night, there was a strange feeling of sadness – that I was going to part with the 323-page acquaintance of this book. Adjectives like “powerful” , “brilliant”, “well written” would not suffice to describe this book for me and that is why I decided to dedicate an entire blog post for it.I have always loved books which are written through a child’s eyes. It helps you view the world with a pristine outlook. May be that is why I also loved Nadine Gordimer’s ‘The Ultimate Safari” so much.

Just like everyone who’s read this book, I say “Atticus Finch is my hero”. He does the right thing even when the whole world deems him ‘mad’. He doesn’t shrink away from the glare of the public but instead holds his head high and believes in what he does. I really admire him. Sensitive issues such as Racism, Poverty and Abuse very dealt with so much prudence.The book gave a wonderful peak into the Southern Lifestyle. Within 30 pages of the book, I fell in love with the characters and I could relate them to some real people that I’ve met. So, I think my copy of “To Kill a MockingBird” is not going up the shelf any time soon as it awaits a million rereads in the future.

I picked up the habit of reading books quite late but I don’t regret it. Well, atleast now I am fortunate enough to read such wonderful books. To everyone who thinks book-reading is boring, here’s my little suggestion- Read a book. It will give you a friend you’ve never had. Read a book. It will tell you what the world is really like. Read a book. It will show you what it is when you are in others’ shoes.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view – until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”
Atticus Finch, by Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

About vandysnape

Hi ! I'm Vandhana. Books. Blogging. Rickmaniac. Titanic. Time Travel. UFOs. Madras. Travel. History. Quirks. Shopaholic. Sinatra. Mozart. Beatles. Amelie. Me :)
This entry was posted in Strands of Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to To Kill a MockingBird

  1. Nice post. I read this book a year ago when I was travelling to Nicobars. I especially liked later half of the book. Keep reading good books, such as this:)

  2. ganeshputtu says:

    ahh!!! an unforgettable book…and the authors only book…did you know that she never wrote another one in her life, because she was afraid that it would never be as goo as this? …i have read and re-read this book half a dozen times and yet Scout refuses to leave me….the very innocence of the character is what is beautifully captured in this book- a perfect 6 year old perspective of narration unlike other childrens books i can name…

    • vandysnape says:

      Oh yes .. I read some where about this being her only book .. I can understand her fear though. No book can ever come close to this. 🙂
      So good to see a fan 🙂

  3. karrthick says:

    Nice write up! I think you’ll like The Choice by Og Mandino.

  4. parmar.amit says:

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=5244492

    It was rumored that Harper Lee didn’t write the whole novel all by herself. Her best friend, Truman Capote, helped write it. This was obviously fueled by the fact that she never wrote anything after this book.
    Whatever the case maybe, the book is considered a classic and taught in many schools. It deals with sensitive topics like racism, profanity & rape at a time when these were considered a taboo (1960s) and was banned because of those subjects.

    If you liked the book, you should also watch the movie. Very well made. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0056592/

    • vandysnape says:

      Oh I wanted to watch the movie after reading the book. Now that I have, I can’t wait to watch it 🙂 Gregory peck’s oscar winning performance at that 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

  5. TBM says:

    I love this book and it is time to reread it again soon. I named my cat Atticus Finch. He’s one of the greatest literary figures.

  6. I love this book! Sometimes young adult books have the best lessons 🙂

    • vandysnape says:

      Very true 🙂 I have been reading 3 books young adult books in a row and they gave some really precious lesson 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

  7. Definitely one of the truly great novels. I liked your point about the book being written thru child’s eyes. I think that gives the story a special kind of power. Your promotion of reading is excellent– you are a force for good! : )

    • vandysnape says:

      Thank you for the kind words 🙂 Writing books through a child eye, I feel is not an easy job as the author has every chance to show herself in some portions. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  8. Wonderfully written post Vandhana! Loved every bit of it!

    Have seen the film which is great too!

    • vandysnape says:

      Thank you 🙂 🙂 I liked the book so much that I starting writing little notes in the pages of the book. It was like talking to the book ..

      I can’t wait to watch the film 🙂

  9. This is one of my all-time favorites. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday: To Kill A Mockingbird | Story Treasury

  11. Pingback: [Requested Ebook] – NOVEL – [PDF] – TO KILL A MOCKING BIRD BY HARPER LEE | Free Ebooks And Science Journals Download

Leave a Reply

